• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Zeus

Puppy Black Lab

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 February 2008 - 10:02 PM

Hiya, right now we just keep the bowl half-ful of puppy food (for large dogs) at all times with Zeus but I was wondering if I should be controlling it a bit more (when to put it out and how much to put out).

Keep in mind he is only 8 weeks and still new to us and his surroundings. The breeders whom I got him from told me to just keep food in the bowl and he will eat throughout the day.

Thanks.

#2 mica

Big Black Lab

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Interests:I am a photographer who shows labradors.. lol weird mixture I know

Posted 20 February 2008 - 02:20 AM

Hi, I'm not a fan of free feeding like that. I prefer to have structured feeding times for my pups, at eight weeks old mine would be on four feeds per day, the last one being a light supper of sardines
it is one of life's unchangable laws.. that all friendly dogs have dirty paws

#3 lindaa

Big Black Lab

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Interests:I enjoy first and foremost, my 2 labs, Abbey and Maggie. I am considered by some a gourmet cook and really enjoy it. I love to go for long walks, enjoy gardening and collecting cookbooks and watching cooking shows. In my youth I really enjoyed sports but that is now relagated to watching it on TV.

Posted 20 February 2008 - 11:18 AM

At 8 weeks, we fed both our girls 2 1/2 cup 4 times per day. At around 12 weeks, I decreased it to 2 1/2 cups 3 times a day. They are now 5 and 3 yrs old and they get 6 oz. in the morning, and 6 ounces mixed with a can of string beans at night. The vet suggested the beans because they fill them up but offer no additional calories. During the day they get about 3 homemade dog biscuits. You have to really watch them as far as putting on weight, that's why I never free fed them.
IPB Image

#4 Casa Rosie

Big Black Lab

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 117 posts