• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Whitetail90

Puppy Black Lab

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 August 2015 - 06:18 PM

Hello everybody! I am new to Labrador's and can't wait to get my little bundle of joy! He won't be born until mid October and ready to pick up at the end of December, and it's going to make a great present for my 3 year old daughter. I have made sure the breeder has all the paper work and health clearances, and she really has a nice facility where they get to run around and play, and it's very clean, not a nasty kennel. I have a nice fenced in yard, and even a bedroom in our house all ready for him! We got a pond that I'm sure he will enjoy as well. I guess I am just looking for any advice for what to expect when I bring him home, and any advice at all about black labs! Thanks.

#2 Kurt

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,495 posts
  • Interests:Anything aviation and dog training.

Posted 22 August 2015 - 10:57 PM

Welcome to Blacklabrador.com! We are glad you are here!

It's great that you are thinking ahead of time about acquiring your first lab. They are fun dogs. But they do grow fast and they are pretty wild for at least their first three years. I'd watch your three year old so she doesn't get knocked over by the pup as it grows in size. Labs love  to play and they are very strong dogs. Sometimes they don't realize how strong they are.

First thing, puppy proof your home. Make sure your pup can't get to any electrical wires or things it can chew and swallow. Check all the rooms that the dog will have access to. Pups can choke on small toys kids may have around. Make sure those things are picked up.

Second, I would advice kennel training your dog for housebreaking and sleeping at night. Place the kennel in your bedroom. Dogs are pack animals and they want to sleep where the pack (family) sleeps. There are a lot of threads here that deal with how this is accomplished.